• 2019 Strategic Planning

     Reimagine Yakima Schools

    The Yakima School District is working with Performance Fact, Inc. to develop a new strategic plan for the district.

    The process launched on September 16, 2019, with student voice sessions that engaged over 100 students.

    In addition to the student voice session, stakeholders will be engaged through the core planning team, the alignment team, school board sessions, and community forums.

    The core planning team (CP) consists of a cross-section of all stakeholders. Because the team includes internal and external stakeholders, it takes the lead in setting the broad direction for the plan, including the Goals, Measures, and Benchmarks of Student Success as well as the "Four Pillars" (or building blocks) of educational practices, programs, and structures. This team can have 20-150 members, as appropriate.

    The core planning team will meet for full days (8:30 am - 3:00 pm)  on September 23-24, October 14-15, November 18 and a half-day on December 9 (8:30 am-noon).  All core planning team meetings will be held at YV-TECH, 1120 South 18th Street.

    Thank you in advance to the following core planning team members (more are being added to the list daily):

    Candida Alpizar   Danny Frazier   Alita Miller
    Maria Elena Alvarez   Tally Garcia   Joanie Monroy
    Pam Ansingh   Adrianne Garner   Karla Moran
    Cristina Arellano   Luis Gomez   Patti Nagle
    Laura Armstrong   Cecilia Gonzalez   Terry Neal
    Robin Beckett   Guadalupe Gonzalez   Andie Olson
    Maria Berrospe   Heidi Griffin   Patti Pendergast
    Molly Beyer   Paige Hake   Richard Perez
    Beatriz Blanco   Laura Harper   Carol Perry
    Pamela Broman   Jennifer Henson   Laura Quintana
    Christina Carlson   Ester Huey   Anita Quintana
    Rocio Carrion   Netty Hull   Angel Ramirez
    Jill Ceja   Linda Iasella   Angelica Reyes
    Erin Chaplin   Amanda Jewell   Martha Rice
    Kevin Chase   Cheryl Jordan   Erica Rodriguez
    Melissa Christianson   Jessica Karstetter   Juan Ruiz
    Amber Cliett   Kerry  Kesey   Sy Ruiz
    Joni Coe   Amber Kinley   Sagrario Santos
    Jennifer Coleman   Adam Koenig   Lisa Sargent
    Diane Crumrine   Nancy Leahy   Giovanni Severino
    Rob Darling   Caitlin Lindborg   Becky Shelton
    Don Davis, Jr.   Shelby Lockhart-Robins   Amanda Shipman
    Rico de La Comb   Maria Lucero   Eric Silvers
    Danielle DeLange   Ashlee Mandrell   Mike Stone
    Rachel Dibble   Gina Marquis   Brenda Struthers
    Susan Duffin   Orfelina Martinez   Katherine Stuber
    Clint Endicott   Julianna Maxwell   Gabriela Suarez
    Andy Ferguson   Mary Virginia Maxwell   Susie Temple
    Enriqueta Flores   Jake McCaffrey   Aletha Thrush
    Heather Flynn   Sean McGeeney   Gaby Torres
    Tersa Foster   Steve McKenna   Norm Walker
    Bunker Frank   Gerardo Mendoza   Kate Watters
    Nicole Franson   Jennifer Mendoza   Carl Whitney

    Alignment Team (AL) consists of key decision-makers or opinion shapers from the key institutions within the community (e.g., school system, parent & community leaders, union, business/higher education, community-based organizations or CBOs, governmental entities, faith-based groups, etc.). Approximately 15 people serve on the AL. 

    The Alignment Team will meet at YV-TECH, for one hour from 7:00-8:00 am on September 24, October 15, November 18, and December 9.

    Thank you to the following alignment team members (more are being added daily):

    Cristina Arellano
    Ryan Beckett
    Jedean Corpron
    Chris Corry
    Dennis Dean
    Leif Ergeson
    Kirsten Fitterer
    Scott Izutsu
    Sydney John
    Wayne Nelson
    Berenice Ponce
    Omar Santoy
    Priscilla  Trevino
    Graciela Villanueva

    Community Forums (CF) provides every resident an opportunity to participate in and influence the direction of the strategic plan prior to its completion and formal adoption by the school board. Community Forums are "reality check" sessions. The insights from the Community Forums are shared with the Core Planning Team for integration into the strategic plan, as appropriate.

    Community Forums will be held from 6:00 pm until 7:30 pm on:

    October 14 (Davis Commons)

    October 15 (IKE Commons)

    and November 18 (Washington Middle School)

    The same content will be presented at all three sessions. They are all open to the public. Refreshments will be served.