• 2019-20 Strategic Planning

    Reimagine Yakima Schools


    1-21-20 Update:  The school board unanimously approved the new six-year strategic plan for the Yakima School District.  A presentation was given on 1-13-20 by Performance Fact. That presentation can be viewed online here: https://youtu.be/lLFygb4PdWo

    The YSD staff has begun planning their work to align with this new strategic plan.  The new strategic plan expires in 2026.

    Yakima School District Strategic Plan - English

    Yakima School District Strategic Plan - Spanish







    The Yakima School District is working with Performance Fact, Inc. to develop a new strategic plan for the district.

    The process launched on September 16, 2019, with student voice sessions that engaged over 100 students.


    In addition to the student voice session, stakeholders will be engaged through the core planning team, the alignment team, school board sessions, and community forums.

    The core planning team (CP) consists of a cross-section of all stakeholders. Because the team includes internal and external stakeholders, it takes the lead in setting the broad direction for the plan, including the Goals, Measures, and Benchmarks of Student Success as well as the "Four Pillars" (or building blocks) of educational practices, programs, and structures. This team can have 20-150 members, as appropriate.

    The core planning team will meet for full days (8:30 am - 3:00 pm)  on September 23-24, October 14-15, November 18 and a half-day on December 9 (8:30 am-noon).  All core planning team meetings will be held at YV-TECH, 1120 South 18th Street.

    Thank you in advance to the following core planning team members (more are being added to the list daily):

    Candida Alpizar   Clint Endicott   Amber Kinley   Carol Perry
    Maria Elena Alvarez   Andy Ferguson   Adam Koenig   Laura Quintana
    Pam Ansingh   Enriqueta Flores   Nancy Leahy   Anita Quintana
    Cristina Arellano   Heather Flynn   Caitlin Lindborg   Angel Ramirez
    Laura Armstrong   Tersa Foster   Shelby Lockhart-Robins   Angelica Reyes
    Robin Beckett   Bunker Frank   Maria Lucero   Martha Rice
    Maria Berrospe   Nicole Franson   Ashlee Mandrell   Erica Rodriguez
    Molly Beyer   Danny Frazier   Gina Marquis   Juan Ruiz
    Beatriz Blanco   Jesse Gamet   Orfelina Martinez   Sy Ruiz
    Pamela Broman   Tally Garcia   Julianna Maxwell   Sagrario Santos
    Christina Carlson   Adrianne Garner   Mary Virginia Maxwell   Lisa Sargent
    Rocio Carrion   Luis Gomez   Jake McCaffrey   Giovanni Severino
    Jill Ceja   Cecilia Gonzalez   Sean McGeeney   Becky Shelton
    Erin Chaplin   Guadalupe Gonzalez   Steve McKenna   Amanda Shipman
    Kevin Chase   Heidi Griffin   Gerardo Mendoza   Eric Silvers
    Melissa Christianson   Paige Hake   Jennifer Mendoza   Mike Stone
    Amber Cliett   Laura Harper   Alita Miller   Brenda Struthers
    Joni Coe   Shanna Hefner   Mike or Brook Molina   Katherine Stuber
    Jennifer Coleman   Jennifer Henson   Joanie Monroy   Gabriela Suarez
    Diane Crumrine   Ester Huey   Karla Moran   Susie Temple
    Rob Darling   Netty Hull   Patti Nagle   Aletha Thrush
    Don Davis, Jr.   Linda Iasella   Terry Neal   Gaby Torres
    Rico de La Comb   Amanda Jewell   Rod Newbrough, Sr.   Norm Walker
    Danielle DeLange   Cheryl Jordan   Andie Olson   Kate Watters
    Rachel Dibble   Jessica Karstetter   Patti Pendergast   Carl Whitney
    Susan Duffin   Kerry  Kesey   Richard Perez    

    Alignment Team (AL) consists of key decision-makers or opinion shapers from the key institutions within the community (e.g., school system, parent & community leaders, union, business/higher education, community-based organizations or CBOs, governmental entities, faith-based groups, etc.). Approximately 15 people serve on the AL. 

    The Alignment Team will meet at YV-TECH, for one hour from 7:00-8:00 am on September 24, October 15, November 18, and December 9.

    Thank you to the following alignment team members (more are being added daily):

    Cristina Arellano   Scott Izutsu
    Ryan Beckett   Sydney John
    Jedean Corpron   Wayne Nelson
    Chris Corry   Berenice Ponce
    Dennis Dean   Omar Santoy
    Duff DeWitt    
    Leif Ergeson   Priscilla Trevino
    Kirsten Fitterer   Graciela Villanueva

    Community Forums (CF) provides every resident an opportunity to participate in and influence the direction of the strategic plan prior to its completion and formal adoption by the school board. Community Forums are "reality check" sessions. The insights from the Community Forums are shared with the Core Planning Team for integration into the strategic plan, as appropriate.

    Community Forums will be held from 6:00 pm until 7:30 pm on:

    October 14 (Davis Commons) Facebook Event Link (Presented in English (translated to Spanish)

    October 15 (IKE Commons) Facebook Event Link Presented in English (translated to Spanish)

    and November 18 (Washington Middle School) Facebook Event Link Presentacion en Espanol (translation to English provided)

    foro flyer

    The same content will be presented at all three sessions. School-aged children are encouraged to participate. All sessions are open to the public. Refreshments will be served. Activities for young children will be provided.